How Do I
Click to Home

Go To Search

Arapahoe County, Colorado is the state’s first county and the third largest with a total population of 631,096 and unincorporated population of 83,764. The County spans 805 square miles and is a land of contrast. The western part of the county is mostly urban with residential, retail, office and industrial areas, while the eastern portion is relatively rural. Arapahoe County has one of the lowest mill levies in the Front Range. Fall Festival

County Government
Arapahoe County was named for the Arapaho Indians, who along with the Cheyenne Indians occupied most of Colorado when it was only a territory. Back then, Arapahoe County was much larger – stretching east to western Kansas. Denver was the original County seat until 1902 when the city split off and became a separate county. The City of Littleton became the new county seat and remains the county seat today. The County Administration Building is located at 5334 S. Prince St. in Littleton, Colorado. Arapahoe County Government has more than 2,000 employees and an annual budget more than $361 million.

Arapahoe County includes the incorporated communities of Aurora, Bennett, Bow Mar, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Columbine Valley, Deer Trail, Englewood, Foxfield, Glendale, Greenwood Village, Littleton and Sheridan. There are nine school districts within the county and more than 350 local improvement and special service districts. Arapahoe County offers a variety of attractive residential choices and a moderate cost of living. Residents enjoy excellent parks, greenbelts and trail systems, superior public services and an inviting quality of life.